Weather’s Unshakable Influence

I revel in the knowledge that I, along with so many (if not all) others, react so involuntarily and consistently to changes of weather.  And never more are these reactions so positive than at the favor of the unexpected warmth of an early Spring day.

I snapped the photograph above on this last April 20th in Vancouver, a brilliant Friday of uncharacteristic early Spring sunshine.  April 20th, “4/20”, is a beautiful date in itself for many residents of refreshingly liberal Vancouver, yet there’s no doubting the annual celebration was lifted to new heights of gaiety and camaraderie this year by the weather– powerful, wonderful weather.  There are only a very few things in existence that afford me more joy than to bear witness to weather’s positive affect on others.

Weather not always serves to affect mood in a classically agreeable sense of course, but for me it always invigorates.  Even in the depths of an Upstate New York winter, after months of confining coldness has brought me despair, I marvel at weather’s influential force.

I bear to keep windows open as long as I can into Autumn– sometimes sacrificing apparent comfort to maintain my illusion of a greater connectedness with my environment.  And rarely, if ever, do I retreat deliberately into a shut-up, air-conditioned  environment during the blazing heat of summer– preferring shade and breeze.

I wonder if I will always tolerate weather’s constant toying with my emotions as gracefully as I do now.

One comment

  1. Pingback: A Self Portrait « Wayward Snaps

Leave a comment