Is a Photoblog a Good Idea?

I, like many I presume, sometimes admire a photograph I’ve snapped more for its power to remind me of a specific event than it’s composition, or general appearance.  Does that not render posting such a photograph to a photo blog ludicrous?

This is one such photo– no doubt a near carbon copy of those in thousands of photo albums the world over, mementos of trips to Paris.  Still, it’s one of my favorites from those weeks I spent backpacking Europe during the spring of 2006, and one I simply couldn’t pass over to post.

Looking at it reminds me of a specific compliment I received from my traveling partner at the time, and on from there the beautiful afternoon we spent together walking Montmartre… and those wonderful, nervous days and nights together in Paris.

It may not seem an exceptional snap to just anyone who might stumble across it, but for me it’s pure love.  I’ve endeavored upon Wayward Snaps for myself anyway, so this photo gets included.  There may be many more like it to come.

4 comments

  1. Try making collages and albums..It looks better..and appealing. By the way, a real picturesque view.

    • Thanks for the compliment!

      As you can see, Wayward Snaps is a fresh undertaking. I’m still attempting to discover a format for posting that pleases me most. Though for the time being, I have decided to intentionally limit the number of photos in each of my posts to just one, or perhaps two.

      I’ve thousands upon thousands of photos on my hard drive, most of which I severely under-appreciate– lost to me in the sea of their sheer number. It’s my intention that Wayward Snaps, more than anything, will offer me a means by which to single out a few of these poor snaps, so I may appreciate those lost details.

      In the meantime, I’ll rather cheekily interpret your advice in favor of albums as a desire to see more of my snaps! But hey, that’s what Flickr is for– most of my posted photos will link to others in their Flickr set.

  2. Answer to Your question: Yes, it is!

Leave a comment